Rafa Nadal swats aside Dudi Sela on way to Australian Open fourth round

Two days after contemplating calling time on his Australian Open campaign, a rejuvenated Rafael Nadal surged into the fourth round in Melbourne on Friday.

The 28-year-old was back on Rod Laver Arena 48 hours later and enjoyed a far more pleasant experience, beating Israel’s Dudi Sela 6-1, 6-0, 7-5 to set up a last-16 clash with the big-serving South African Kevin Anderson.

“I started playing well with not many mistakes and Dudi was making more than usual in the first two sets, but I was playing much better than the other day,” said Nadal,

“I was feeling the ball better with the forehand, changing direction down the line. In the third set he had some chances and I was lucky at the end of the third. The other night was one of the toughest moments I have spent on court. My body was not in good condition, I felt I was very lucky to be through. I thought at 2-1 down I was going to have to take the plane and go back to Mallorca.”

Nadal told the on-court interviewer Jim Courier that a lot of sleep had been the key to his recovery, but added: “I don’t like to sleep a lot. I feel when I am sleeping I am losing time.

“[But] I have to this time, to be relaxed and try to rest a little bit. It’s a big thing for me to be in the fourth round of the Australian Open after not having much chance to be on the tour. Kevin has a big serve and is a dangerous player.”

You Rock Rafa… Vamos!!!

About Alex

RaFan for Life

Posted on January 24, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

